Our History

Agora University is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization aimed at raising the awareness of Orthodox Christian teachings though Patristic living, research and education.

Agora University was co-founded by Dn. Emmanuel Gergis and Rev. Fr. Michael Sorial in 2012 as a venue for engaging the Oriental Orthodox Christian tradition and the Humanities. In 2012, the University was initially incorporated as St. Cyril of Alexandria Orthodox Christian Society. The Society filed for its 501(c)(3) tax-exemption status and was approved on September 28, 2012.

In 2014, the Society began to collaborate with the Alexandria School Journal publishing its first academic journal in the English language in September of the same year. In 2015, the Society helped establish the Alexandria School Foundation for Christian Studies in Cairo, Egypt. In 2015, the Executive Board invited His Grace Bishop Epiphanius of the Monastery of St. Macarius in Scetis, Egypt to be the President of the Advisory Board.

In 2016, the Society established Agora University expanded to offer a Master of Theology degree and a Master of Theological Studies through its Holy Transfiguration College of History, Philosophy and Religion. Additionally, the Executive Board invited Mr. Naguib Sawiris to be the Chairman of the University. In 2017, the Society officially changed its name to Agora University Inc.

Since its foundation, His Holiness Pope Tawadros II of the Coptic Orthodox Church and His Holiness Patriarch Ignatius Aphrem II Karim of the Syriac Orthodox Church granted their blessings for the Vision, Mission and activities of the University.